Automatic translation

Current cyclones and Watching


EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Cyclones in the Atlantic

888 named systems have been recorded over the Atlantic basin (this also includes the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico) since 1951. It is possible that a few were not very well assessed at the start of the period, before satellite imagery began. becomes relevant and ubiquitous.

Almost half (419) of these systems did not go beyond the tropical storm stage. The other 469 strengthened at the hurricane stage. 185 became major hurricanes (Cat. 3 and +) and 28 became category 5 hurricanes.

All cyclones in the Atlantic since 1950

Distribution of cyclones by season

Number of cyclones and ACE intensity

We can see that, overall, ACE (Accumulated Cyclone Energy) is correlated with the number of systems in a season. There are however notable exceptions like the 2017 season which with 17 named cyclones was a little above average (13) is the 5th most intense season compared to the ACE index. In the other direction, the 2020 season which is the 1st in number of systems (26) has an ACE index of 180, i.e. less than the 9th in history since 1951.

The 10 most violent cyclones

The islands indicated as affected were not necessarily affected at the peak of the hurricane intensity. For Gilbert in 1988 for example, which is the second most intense cyclone in the Atlantic, it passed over Martinique in a tropical storm. To see the strongest cyclones to hit an island, go to cyclone statistics for the islands.

List of cyclones since 1950

Click on the name of a cyclone or an island to view detailed information, you can sort the list by column or directly search for a name. On mobile you can drag the table horizontally with your finger.

EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Current cyclones and Watching


Last article

Latest tweets

Warning !
Watching in #Guadeloupe has increased to the YELLOW level for heavy rains and thunderstorms.

See details on: https://meteofrance.gp/fr/Watching/guadeloupe

🌀 This November 28 at 7 am (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

🌀 This November 27 at 18 p.m. (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

This site has been developed for entertainment and understanding the weather in the tropics.

It should only be used NEVER for the safety of people or property.

Only information from your national meteorological service and your civil security should be used in case of proven risk!

Login

[user_registration_my_account]

Les traductions sont automatiques.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

ODETTE41.3N-39.8W
PETER21.2N-65.9W
ROSE23.1N-38.1W
INVEST 98L9.6N-30.7W

EnglishFrench

Les traductions sont automatisées.

Les cyclones en Atlantique

888 systèmes nommés ont été répertoriés sur le bassin Atlantique (ça comprend aussi la mer Caraïbe et le golfe du Mexique) depuis 1951. Il est possible que quelques-uns n’aient pas été très bien évalués en début de période, avant que l’imagerie satellite ne devienne pertinente  et omniprésente.

Près de la moitié (419) de ces systèmes n’ont pas dépassé le stade de tempête tropicale. Les 469 autres se sont renforcés au stade d’ouragan. 185 sont devenus des ouragans majeurs (Cat. 3 et +) et 28 des ouragans de catégorie 5.

Tous les cyclones en Atlantique depuis 1950

Répartition des cyclones par saison

Nombre de cyclones et intensité ACE

On constate que, globalement, l’énergie ACE (Accumulated Cyclone Energy) est corrélée avec le nombre de système dans une saison. Il y a cependant des exceptions notables comme la saison 2017 qui avec 17 cyclones nommés était un peu au dessus de la moyenne (13) est la 5e saison la plus intense par rapport à l’indice ACE. Dans l’autre sens, la saison 2020 qui est la 1ere en nombre de systèmes (26) a un indice ACE de 180 soit moins le 9e de l’histoire depuis 1951.

Les 10 cyclones les plus violents

Les îles indiquées comme touchées ne l’ont pas forcément été au pic de l’intensité de l’ouragan. Pour Gilbert en 1988 par exemple, qui est le 2e cyclone le plus intense en Atlantique, il est passé sur la Martinique en tempête tropicale. Pour voir les cyclones les plus forts qui on touché une île, rendez-vous sur les statistiques cycloniques des îles.

Liste des cyclones depuis 1950

Cliquez sur le nom d’un cyclone ou d’une île pour afficher les informations détaillées.Vous pouvez trier la liste par colonne ou rechercher directement un nom. Sur mobile vous pouvez faire glisser le tableau horizontalement avec le doigt.

EnglishFrench

Les traductions sont automatisées.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

ODETTE41.3N-39.8W
PETER21.2N-65.9W
ROSE23.1N-38.1W
INVEST 98L9.6N-30.7W

Dernier article

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

Ce site a été élaboré à des fins de divertissement et de compréhension de la météo en zone tropicale.

Il ne doit être utilisé EN AUCUN CAS dans un objectif de sécurité des personnes ou des biens.

Seules les informations de votre service national de météorologie et de votre sécurité civile doivent être utilisées en cas risque avéré !

Compte

Login

[user_registration_my_account]