Automatic translation

Current cyclones and Watching


EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Essential weather links

This page lists the essential weather links, those you absolutely need to know and use if you want to get a more precise opinion of the weather situation in the tropical Atlantic. Another page with secondary weather links is available.

Institutional weather links

Weather France Antilles Guyana

Météo France Antilles-Guyane website

The website of the French meteorological service dedicated to the Antilles-Guyana zone. It is in fact among all weather links most important for people living in the French West Indies since it gives the official forecast, the ONLY one that should be followed in the event of a major risk.

It takes more and more into account the cyclonic specificity of the West Indies and the monitoring of current systems is improving every year. On the other hand, still no https and an interface which is not always very intuitive.

Météo France forecasts are based on 2 forecast models developed by the group, namely Arpège for the global forecast and Arôme for the local forecast with a much higher resolution.


The NHC (National Hurricane Center)

NHC websiteIt is LE Reference weather link for cyclone monitoring. For decades the NHC tirelessly informs and tracks cyclone systems in the North Atlantic and the North Pacific. Ever more relevant forecasts and extraordinary tools such as the famous “Hurricane Hunters” planes which cross the most violent hurricanes to collect all the necessary data. In addition to the data on the website, the NHC and NOAA make all their data available through FTP servers (it is thanks to this data that the site Tropical weather is partially automated). In short, an absolute MUST for all those who want serious information.

A tutorial on all the data of the NOAA and how to use them will be available soon in the member part of the site.


NRL (US Navy)

NRL - US Navy WebsiteThe US Navy closely monitors tropical weather systems to ensure the safety of its ships. For all the basins followed by the NHC, they are the same forecast. On the other hand the NRL also monitors systems in areas where the NHC is not present (the Indian Ocean in particular). It is interesting to see the evolution of the systems in these areas poorly covered by the usual weather sites.On the other hand, it is the NRL which is at the initiative of the classification of disturbances in Invest. They are also the ones providing the logistics for the Hurricane Hunters.

The site is a bit old and the interface is not the most intuitive!

University weather links

American universities are at the forefront of atmospheric research in both climate and hazardous weather systems. And they consistently share ALL of their research and data… it's a gold mine and one of my favorite sources of information.

University of Colorado

The University of Colorado Atmospheric Research Department and its Tropical Weather Lab are recognized around the world for their seasonal forecasts. All relevant national weather services (including the NHC) use these forecasts to build their own roadmap.

The teacher's team Philip klotzbach has developed particularly relevant long-range forecasting models.


University of Wisconsin-Madison

Winsconsin-Madison UniversityIt has long been my reference site. 15 years ago he was the forerunner of graphical interfaces allowing to stack the layers of data to have an overview of a system or an area. At the same time, the university's weather service has developed an automated tool to estimate the power of a cyclone and its evolution from satellite data. Based on early research from the NOAA this tool, ADT (Advanced Dvorak Technique) is used in all geographic basins subject to tropical weather systems. The NHC makes it one of its major forecasting tools with the famous T. A tutorial on using its cyclone tracking interface will soon be available for subscribers.


NCAR - National Center for Athmospheric Research

NCARIt is not strictly speaking a university but a research center integrating public and private resources. This specific site (there are dozens of them) converts the output of forecasting models into graphs of type plotters, commonly referred to as "spaghetti graphics". In addition to these graphical tools, the site provides an ftp service making it possible to retrieve all the data available for each weather system. Developments are underway to graphically integrate live data from Hurricane Hunters.

The essential weather links

There are a multitude of weather and website links dealing with the issue of cyclonic systems. From the most elaborate to the most amateurs, it is impossible to go around it. Another page talks about "secondary" links, but in this section we will focus on 3 sites that we absolutely cannot neglect as they are complete.

Windy website

It is probably one of the most used weather links in the world. Originally launched in the Windguru and other Windfinder niche, mainly wind forecasting, it has considerably increased its functionality since then, to such an extent that few people really know how to use it. The vast majority of people are happy with the initial layer of wind or the few layers available on the first screen. However, it is almost possible today to access all the weather information from this single site! A multi-part video tutorial on using Windy. will soon be available in the subscribed part of the site.

But we must not forget that Windy is not a forecasting service. It just does (very well) aggregate an incredible number of sources.


Tropical tidbits

Tropical Tidbits websiteIt's been my favorite site for a few years. Its creator, Levi Cowan launched it in 2012 when he was a master's student in meteorology. Since then, it has integrated a fairly impressive number of data and tools which make it the most complete weather site but also one of the most complex to understand. Here too, a getting started video tutorial will soon be available for Météo Tropicale subscribers.

Tropical Tidbits can be used as a single source of data when you know how to use it and understand what it's all about. Not necessarily suitable for a large audience, however, with little explanation of the data displayed.


Weather Underground

Weather Underground websiteIt is a general weather site with a section dedicated to cyclones very well done. It was created by one of the most recognized specialists in cyclone weather: Dr Jeff Masters, which I recommend reading regularly (this is the Category 6 section on the site) that he shares with another forecaster outside of the common: Bob Henson.

WU offers a lot of editorial content as well as very sophisticated graphical tracking tools.


 

To finish, I will quickly tell you about Google Earth. This program allows, when you know where to find them, to display almost all the meteorological data of the planet with KML files. You can display the tracking, satellite images, radar images and even live data from Hurricane Hunters! A dedicated section will be set up on the use of Google Earth for cyclones in the coming days in the public area of ​​the site.

EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Current cyclones and Watching


Last article

Latest tweets

Warning !
Watching in #Guadeloupe has increased to the YELLOW level for heavy rains and thunderstorms.

See details on: https://meteofrance.gp/fr/Watching/guadeloupe

🌀 This November 28 at 7 am (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

🌀 This November 27 at 18 p.m. (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

This site has been developed for entertainment and understanding the weather in the tropics.

It should only be used NEVER for the safety of people or property.

Only information from your national meteorological service and your civil security should be used in case of proven risk!

Login

[user_registration_my_account]

EnglishFrench

Les traductions sont automatiques.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

EPSILON30.4N-60.5W95 kts955 hPa

Les liens météo essentiels

Cette page liste les liens météo essentiels, ceux qu’il faut absolument connaître et utiliser si on veut se faire une opinion plus précise de la situation météo dans l’Atlantique tropical. Une autre page avec les liens météos secondaires est disponible.

Les liens météo institutionnels

Météo France Antilles Guyane

Site internet Météo France Antilles-Guyane

Le site internet du service météorologique français dédié à la zone Antilles-Guyane. C’est de fait parmi tous les liens météo le plus important pour les personnes vivant dans les Antilles françaises puisqu’il donne la prévision officielle, la SEULE qui doit être suivie en cas de risque majeur.

Il prend de plus en plus en compte la spécificité cyclonique des Antilles et le suivi des systèmes en cours s’améliore chaque année. Par contre, toujours pas de https et une interface pas toujours très intuitive.

Les prévisions de Météo France sont basées sur 2 modèles de prévision développés par le groupe, à savoir Arpège pour la prévision globale et Arôme pour la prévision locale avec une résolution beaucoup plus importante.


Le NHC (National Hurricane Center)

Le site internet du NHCC’est LE lien météo de référence pour le suivi des cyclones. Depuis des décennies le NHC informe inlassablement et traque les systèmes cycloniques  en Atlantique nord et le Pacifique nord. Des prévisions toujours plus pertinentes et des outils hors normes comme les fameux avions “Hurricane Hunters” qui traversent les ouragans les plus violents pour recueillir toutes les données nécessaires. En plus des données sur le site internet, le NHC et la NOAA mettent à disposition toutes leurs données au travers de serveurs FTP (c’est grâce à ces données que le site Météo Tropicale est partiellement automatisé). Bref un MUST absolu pour tous ceux qui veulent .s’informer sérieusement.

Un tutoriel sur toutes les données de la NOAA et comment les utiliser sera bientôt disponible dans la partie membre du site.


NRL (US Navy)

Site Internet NRL - US NavyLa marine américaine suit de très près les système météo tropicaux pour assurer la sécurité de ses navires. Pour tout ce qui est des bassins suivis par le NHC, ce sont les mêmes prévision. Par contre le NRL suit aussi les systèmes dans les zones ou le NHC n’est pas présent (l’Océan Indien notamment). C’est intéressant pour voir l’évolution des systèmes dans ces zones mal couvertes par les sites météo habituels.D’autre part, c’est le NRL qui est à l’initiative du classement des perturbations en Invest. C’est aussi eux qui fournissent la logistique pour les Hurricane Hunters.

Le site est un peu ancien et l’interface n’est pas des plus intuitives !

Les liens météo universitaires

Les universités américaines sont à la pointe dans la recherche atmosphérique aussi bien dans le cadre du climat que des systèmes météo dangereux. Et ils partagent systématiquement TOUTES leurs recherches et leurs données … c’est un mine d’or et parmi mes sources d’information favorites.

Université du Colorado

Le département de recherche atmosphérique de l’Université du Colorado et son labo dédié à la météo tropicale sont reconnus dans le monde entier pour leurs prévisions saisonnières. Tous les services météo nationaux concernés (y compris le NHC) s’appuient sur ces prévisions pour établir leur propre feuille de route.

L’équipe du professeur Philip Klotzbach a développé des modèles de prévision à longue échéance particulièrement pertinents.


Université du Wisconsin-Madison

Université Winsconsin-MadisonCa a longtemps été mon site de référence. Il y a 15 ans il a été le précurseur des interfaces graphiques permettant d’empiler les couches de données pour avoir une vue d’ensemble d’un système ou d’une zone. En parallèle le service météo de l’université a développé un outil automatisé permettant d’estimer la puissance d’un cyclone et son évolution à partir des données satellites. Basé sur des recherches anciennes de la NOAA cet outil, ADT (Advanced Dvorak Technique) est utilisé dans tous les bassins géographiques soumis aux systèmes météorologiques tropicaux. Le NHC en fait un de ses outils majeurs de ses prévisions avec le fameux indice T. Un tutoriel sur l’utilisation de son interface de tracking des cyclones sera bientôt disponible pour les abonnés.


NCAR – National Center for Athmospheric Research

NCARCe n’est pas à proprement parler une université mais un centre de recherche intégrant des ressources publiques et privées. Ce site spécifique (il y en a des dizaines) converti les sorties de modèles de prévision en graphiques de type plotters, appelé communément les “graphiques spaghetti”. En plus de ces outils graphique, le site met à disposition un service ftp permettant de récupérer l’ensemble des données disponibles pour chaque système météo.  Des développements ont en cours pour intégrer graphiquement les données en direct issues des Hurricane Hunters.

Les liens météo incontournables

Il existe une multitude de liens météo et de site internet traitant de la question des systèmes cycloniques. Des plus élaborés aux plus amateurs, il est impossible d’en faire le tour. Une autre page parle des liens “secondaires”, mais dans cette rubrique on va s’intéresser aux 3 sites qu’on ne peut absolument pas négliger tant ils sont complets.

Site internet Windy

C’est probablement l’un des liens météo les plus utilisés dans le monde. Lancé initialement dans le créneau des Windguru et autres Windfinder, à savoir la prévision du vent essentiellement, il a considérable augmenté ses fonctionnalités depuis, à tel point que peu de personnes savent vraiment l’utiliser. L’immense majorité des gens se contente de la couche initiale de vent ou des quelques couches disponibles sur le premier écran. Pourtant il est quasiment possible aujourd’hui d’accéder à toutes les infos météo à partir de ce seul site ! Un tutoriel vidéo en plusieurs parties sur l’utilisation de Windy. sera bientôt disponible dans la partie abonnée du site.

Mais il ne faut pas oublier que Windy n’est pas un service de prévisionistes. Il se contente de faire (très bien) l’agrégation d’un nombre incroyable de sources.


Tropical Tidbits

Site internet Tropical TidbitsC’est mon site favori depuis quelques années. Son créateur, Levi Cowan l’a lancé en 2012 alors qu’il était étudiant en master de météorologie. Depuis il a intégré un nombre assez impressionnant de données et d’outils qui en font le site météo le plus complet mais aussi un des plus complexes à appréhender. La aussi, un tutoriel vidéo de prise en main sera bientôt disponible pour les abonnés de Météo Tropicale.

Tropical Tidbits peut tout à fait être utilisé comme source unique de données lorsque l’on sait s’en servir et l’on comprend de quoi ça parle. Pas forcément adapté à un large public par contre, avec peu d’explications sur les données affichées.


Weather Underground

Site internt Weather UndergroundC’est un site météo généraliste avec une section dédiée aux cyclones très bien faite. Il a été créé par un des spécialistes les plus reconnus de la météo des cyclones : le Dr Jeff Masters dont je vous conseille la lecture régulière (c’est la rubrique Category 6 sur le site) qu’il partage avec un autre prévisionniste hors du commun : Bob Henson.

WU propose beaucoup de contenu rédactionnel ainsi que des outils graphiques de tracking très élaborés.


 

Pour terminer, je vais rapidement vous parler de Google Earth. Ce programme permet, lorsque l’on sait où les trouver, d’afficher quasiment l’ensemble des données métérologiques de la planète avec des fichiers KML On peut afficher les tracking, les images satellites, les images radar et même les données en direct des Hurricane Hunters ! Une rubrique dédié sera mise en place sur l’utilisation de Google Earth pour les cyclones dans les prochains jours dans la zone publique du site.

Les traductions sont automatisées.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

EPSILON30.4N-60.5W

Dernières analyses

Le groupe FB

Indispensable

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

Ce site a été élaboré à des fins de divertissement et de compréhension de la météo en zone tropicale.

Il ne doit être utilisé EN AUCUN CAS dans un objectif de sécurité des personnes ou des biens.

Seules les informations de votre service national de météorologie et de votre sécurité civile doivent être utilisées en cas risque avéré !

Pourquoi s'abonner ?

Alertes SMS et mail

Soyez informés en temps réel lorsque votre territoire entre le cône d'incertitude d'un cyclone ou lorsque la vigilance change.  Recevez les nouvelles publication directement par mail ... et beaucoup d'autres fonctionnalités.

Analyses vidéo

Retrouvez nos principales analyses sous forme de vidéo avec toutes les explications détaillées. Ne dépendez plus des articles trop alarmistes pour vous faire votre opinion sur les systèmes météo qui menacent votre territoire !

Tutoriels vidéo

Apprenez à utiliser toutes les fonctionnalités des sites météo et des applications : Windy, Tropical Tidbits, la NOAA, Google Earth ... etc. Apprenez à lire les cartes et les prévisions et à faire votre propre point météo.

Prévisionnistes

Découvrez quels sont les prévisionnistes à suivre sur Twitter et sur quels sites ils publient leurs analyses. Soyez informés de leurs dernières publications et analyses.

Posez vos questions

Utilisez le système de messagerie privé pour poser des questions sur les cyclones ou pour demander des rubriques qui vous semblent pertinentes.

Le prix

Profitez de toutes ces fonctionnalités et de bien d'autres pour un prix annuel inférieur à celui d'un paquet de cigarette !

La partie abonnée du site n’est pas encore accessible.

Compte

Login

[user_registration_my_account]