Automatic translation

Current cyclones and Watching


EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Site support

The Météo Tropicale website is completely voluntary. All the content (live cyclone tracking, stats, weather analyzes, videos, etc.) is completely accessible for free without any need to register and no advertising is displayed so as not to stalk your privacy more than it does. 'is already. These choices are perfectly accepted but sometimes a little difficult to implement.

This site is very comprehensive and is enriched with new features almost every month. But the downside is that it requires a lot of computer resources to operate. Every 6 hours it automatically retrieves the outputs of 4 forecast models (Arpège, Arome, GFS et ECMWF), satellite images, weather reports from more than 500 stations and airports and a lot of other weather data. All of this information needs to be loaded, stored and processed. Just as an example, every 6 hours more than 2 tera bytes are loaded for the grib files of the models and which are processed to be inserted into the database. That's a lot, a lot of data, and that 4 times a day.

Currently the site uses 1 dedicated server for all its activity, including the display of pages. When an analysis is published for a system close to the West Indies, more than 3.000 people connect almost simultaneously, which explains why sometimes access to the site becomes impossible, despite all the optimizations that I do regularly to improve algorithms.

There is no problem, it works. It's a little tense sometimes, but it works. It held up last season but we had no real alarm on the West Indies. It is possible that in the event of a proven risk, the volume of connections will increase significantly and that the server will have more and more periods of instability. Ideally there should be a server for the back office which stores and processes the data and a server for the front office, ie the display of the site. But the cost (of the order of € 1.000 per year per server plus that of licenses for various software and plugins of the order of € 500 per year) is high and for the moment it will stay that way.

This is where support and donations can help evolve the infrastructure and bring new, more relevant functionality, especially in the analysis and transcription of forecast data into understandable language or an information system. by email (or, let's dream a little, by SMS) in the event of a threat.

There is of course no obligation and the site will continue to operate with or without support. So, if you don't want to or can't, you absolutely won't have to and you can still continue to benefit from automated cyclone tracking and regularly published analytics or video podcasts. But if you can and want to support the project a little bit, then the site will evolve and everyone will benefit (and I have lots of ideas for new prevention and warning tools). There is no minimum amount, it is at your sole discretion.

Anyway, whether you support the site or not, thank you for your trust and diligence, it is an honor for me to see how loyal you are to Météo Tropicale. Once again, a big thank you.

EnglishFrench

Translations are automated.

Current cyclones and Watching


Last article

Latest tweets

Warning !
Watching in #Guadeloupe has increased to the YELLOW level for heavy rains and thunderstorms.

See details on: https://meteofrance.gp/fr/Watching/guadeloupe

🌀 This November 28 at 7 am (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

🌀 This November 27 at 18 p.m. (loc) the Watching is as follows:
#Guadeloupe: GREEN
#Martinique: GREEN
Northern Islands: GREEN

There is no hurricane system on the Atlantic.

https://www.meteo-tropicale.fr

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

This site has been developed for entertainment and understanding the weather in the tropics.

It should only be used NEVER for the safety of people or property.

Only information from your national meteorological service and your civil security should be used in case of proven risk!

Login

[user_registration_my_account]

EnglishFrench

Les traductions sont automatiques.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

BILL37.6N-68.5W40 kts0 hPaINVEST 92L19.2N-95.1W20 kts1009 hPaINVEST 94L7.9N-24.5W25 kts1010 hPa

Soutien du site

Le site Météo Tropicale est totalement bénévole. Tout le contenu (tracking live des cyclones, stats, analyses météo, vidéos … etc) est totalement accessible gratuitement sans aucun besoin de s’inscrire et aucune publicité n’est affichée afin de ne pas traquer votre vie privée plus qu’elle ne l’est déjà. Ces choix sont parfaitement assumés mais parfois un peu difficiles à mettre en oeuvre.

Ce site est très complet et s’enrichit de nouvelles fonctionnalités quasiment tous les mois. Mais la contre partie est qu’il demande énormément de ressources informatiques pour fonctionner. Toutes les 6 heures il récupère automatiquement les sorties de 4 modèles de prévision (Arpège, Arome, GFS et ECMWF), les images satellites, les relevés météo de plus de 500 stations et aéroports et beaucoup d’autres données météo. Toutes ces informations doivent être chargées, stockées et traitées. Juste en exemple, toutes les 6h c’est plus de 2 tera octets qui sont chargées pour les fichiers gribs des modèles et qui sont traités pour être insérés dans la base de données. C’est beaucoup, beaucoup de données, et ça 4 fois par jour.

A l’heure actuelle le site utilise 1 serveur dédié pour toute son activité, y compris l’affichage des pages. Lorsqu’une analyse est publiée pour un système proche des Antilles, c’est plus de 3.000 personnes qui se connectent quasiment simultanément, c’est ce qui explique que parfois l’accès au site devient impossible, malgré toutes les optimisations que je fais régulièrement pour améliorer les algorithmes.

Il n’y a pas de problème, ça marche. C’est parfois un peu tendu, mais ça marche. Ça a tenu la saison dernière mais on a pas eu de véritable alerte sur l’arc antillais. Il est possible qu’en cas de risque avéré, le volume de connexions augmente de manière importante et que le serveur ait de plus en plus de périodes d’instabilité. Idéalement il faudrait un serveur pour le back-office qui stocke et traite les données et un serveur pour le front-office, c’est à dire l’affichage du site. Mais le coût (de l’ordre de 1.000€ par an par serveur plus celui des licences des divers logiciels et plugins de l’ordre de 500€ par an) est élevé et pour le moment ça va rester comme ça.

C’est là que le soutien et les dons peuvent permettre de faire évoluer l’infrastructure et permettre d’apporter de nouvelles fonctionnalité plus pertinentes, notamment dans l’analyse et la retranscription des données de prévision en langage compréhensible ou un système d’information par mail (ou, rêvons un peu, par SMS) en cas de menace.

Il n’y a bien sûr aucune obligation et le site continuera à fonctionner avec ou sans soutien. Donc, si vous ne voulez ou ne pouvez pas, il ne vous en sera absolument pas tenu rigueur et vous pourrez toujours continuer à bénéficier du tracking automatisé des cyclones et des analyses publiées régulièrement ou des podcasts vidéo. Mais si vous pouvez et voulez soutenir un petit peu le projet, alors le site évoluera et tout le monde en bénéficiera (et j’ai beaucoup d’idées pour de nouveaux outils de prévention et d’alerte). Il n’y a aucun plancher de montant, c’est à votre entière discrétion.

Quoi qu’il en soit, que vous souteniez ou pas le site, je vous remercie de votre confiance et de votre assiduité, c’est un honneur pour moi de voir à quel point vous êtes fidèles à Météo Tropicale. Encore une fois, un grand merci.

Les traductions sont automatisées.

Cyclones en cours et vigilance

BILL37.6N-68.5W
INVEST 92L19.2N-95.1W
INVEST 94L7.9N-24.5W

Derniers articles

Le groupe FB

Indispensable

ATTE

Disclaimer

NTION

Ce site a été élaboré à des fins de divertissement et de compréhension de la météo en zone tropicale.

Il ne doit être utilisé EN AUCUN CAS dans un objectif de sécurité des personnes ou des biens.

Seules les informations de votre service national de météorologie et de votre sécurité civile doivent être utilisées en cas risque avéré !

Compte

Login

[user_registration_my_account]