Current cyclones and Watching


Cyclones in Guadeloupe

The most significant cyclones in Guadeloupe

Cyclones in Guadeloupe are not uncommon. Powerful or rather nice, they pass on or near the island on a fairly regular basis. Among these cyclones, it is of course Hurricane Hugo which marked Guadeloupe. Passed in category 4 on September 17, 1989 on Grande-Terre, it caused chaos on the island. The sustained winds over 1 minute were 120 kts (222 km / h) with gusts around 300 km.

Official reports indicate 11 deaths and 107 injured but they are controversial. In addition, the material damage was considerable: more than 25.000 lost their homes and more than 30.000 were damaged. The damage was assessed at more than 600 million euros (4 billion francs). It is the banana growers and fishermen who have been the hardest hit economically. Other violent cyclones have touched or grazed Guadeloupe, such as Maria in 2017 in Category 5.

No cyclone threatens Guadeloupe

The level of alertness is GREEN

General information about Guadeloupe

Guadeloupe is a territory of the French Antilles with an archipelago. It has about 400.000 inhabitants spread over 32 municipalities and over 1.628 km². The island is divided into 2 main areas: Grande-Terre and Basse-Terre and is accompanied by an archipelago comprising Les Saintes, Marie-Galante and La Désirade.

It is the island of the West Indies the most affected by cyclones. Cyclones in Guadeloupe are 15 systems that affected it directly and 11 others that passed within 30 km. It is to be compared to the 7 passed directly on Martinique.

Of the 15 cyclones whose center directly affected Guadeloupe, there are 11 tropical storms, 1 category 2 hurricane, 2 major category 3 hurricanes and 1 major category 4 hurricane. Of the 11 past within 30 km, there are there were 9 tropical (or downgraded) storms, 1 Cat hurricane. 1 and 1 major hurricane of Cat. 5 (Maria in 2017).

Cyclones en cours et vigilance


Les traductions sont automatisées.

Les cyclones en Guadeloupe

Les cyclones en Guadeloupe les plus marquants

Les cyclones en Guadeloupe, ce n’est pas quelque chose de rare. Puissants ou plutôt gentils, ils passent sur l’île ou à proximité de manière assez régulière. Parmi ces cyclones, c’est bien sûr l’ouragan Hugo qui a marqué la Guadeloupe. Passé en catégorie 4 le 17 septembre 1989 sur Grande-Terre il provoqué le chaos sur l’île. Les vents soutenus sur 1 minute étaient de 120 kts (222 kmh) avec des rafales autour de 300 km.

Les rapports officiels indiquent 11 décès et 107 blessés mais ils sont sujet à polémique. Par ailleurs les dégâts matériels ont été considérables : plus de 25.000 ont perdu leur logement et plus de 30.000 ont été sinistrés. Les dégâts ont été évalués à plus de 600 millions d’euros (4 milliards de francs). Ce sont les producteurs de bananes et les pêcheurs qui ont été le plus durement impactés économiquement. D’autres cyclones violent ont touché ou frôlé la Guadeloupe, comme Maria en 2017 en Catégorie 5.

Aucun cyclone ne menace la Guadeloupe

Le niveau de vigilance est VERT

Infos générales sur la Guadeloupe

La Guadeloupe est un territoire des Antilles françaises avec un archipel. Il compte environ 400.000 habitants répartis sur 32 communes et sur 1.628 km². L’île est divisée en 2 zones principales : Grande-Terre et Basse-Terre et est accompagné d’un archipel comprenant Les Saintes, Marie-Galante et La Désirade.

C’est l’île de l’arc antillais la plus touchée par les cyclones. Les cyclones en Guadeloupe c’est 15 systèmes qui l’ont touché directement et 11 autres qui sont passés à moins de 30 km. C’est à rapprocher des 7 passés directement sur la Martinique.

Sur les 15 cyclones dont le centre a directement touché la Guadeloupe, on compte 11 tempêtes tropicales, 1 ouragan de catégorie 2, 2 ouragans majeurs de catégorie 3 et 1 ouragan majeur de catégorie 4. Sur les 11 passés à moins de 30 km, il y a eu 9 tempêtes tropicales (ou déclassées), 1 ouragans de Cat. 1 et 1 ouragan majeur de Cat. 5 (Maria en 2017).